American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  2 ItemsModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
International (1)
Resident (1)
1Name:  Dr. Fernando Pereira
 Institution:  Google Inc.
 Year Elected:  2019
 Class:  1. Mathematical and Physical Sciences
 Subdivision:  107
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1956
Fernando Pereira is VP and Engineering Fellow at Google, where he leads research and development in natural language understanding and machine learning. His previous positions include chair of the Computer and Information Science department of the University of Pennsylvania, head of the Machine Learning and Information Retrieval department at AT&T Labs, and research and management positions at SRI International. He received a Ph.D. in Artificial Intelligence from the University of Edinburgh in 1982, and has over 120 research publications on computational linguistics, machine learning, bioinformatics, speech recognition, and logic programming, as well as several patents. He was elected AAAI Fellow in 1991 for contributions to computational linguistics and logic programming, ACM Fellow in 2010 for contributions to machine learning models of natural language and biological sequences, and ACL Fellow for contributions to sequence modeling, finite-state methods, and dependency and deductive parsing. He was president of the Association for Computational Linguistics in 1993. In 2020 he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Fernando Pereira was elected a member of the Americal Philosophical Society in 2019.
2Name:  Dr. Adi Shamir
 Institution:  Weizmann Institute of Science
 Year Elected:  2019
 Class:  1. Mathematical and Physical Sciences
 Subdivision:  107
 Residency:  International
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1952
Adi Shamir is currently Paul and Marlene Borman Professorial Chair of Applied Mathematics in the Department of Applied Mathematics at the The Weizmann Institute of Science. He earned his Ph.D., The Weizmann Institute of Science, 1977. Adi Shamir is beyond doubt one of the most recognized cryptographers worldwide. He has a number of claims to fame including being a co-inventor of the RSA public-key cryptography algorithm, the father of the idea and first realization of secret sharing, the co-inventor of identity based and visual cryptography, and a major actor in what has become known as differential cryptanalysis. For over thirty years Shamir continues his visionary leadership obtaining breakthrough results in essentially all fields within cryptography, opening new research avenues towards a better understanding of both new and well established cryptographic tools. His many honors and awards include: the Baker Prize in 1986, the PIUS XI Gold Medal of the The Vatican's Pontifical Academy in 1992, the Kanellakis Prize in 1997, the Kobayashi Prize of the IEEE in 2000, the Turing award, together with Rivest and Adleman, in 2002, the Israel Prize and the Okawa Prize in 2008, the NEC Prize in 2009, the Grand Medaille of the French Académie des Sciences in 2012, and the Japan Prize in 2017. He is a member of the Israel Academy of Science (1998), the National Academy of Sciences (2005), Academia Europaea (2007), French Académie des Sciences (2015), and the Royal Society (2018). Adi Shamir was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society in 2019.
Election Year