American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  2 ItemsModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
Resident (2)
209. Neurobiology[X]
1Name:  Dr. David Baltimore
 Institution:  California Institute of Technology
 Year Elected:  1997
 Class:  2. Biological Sciences
 Subdivision:  209. Neurobiology
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1938
David Baltimore has had a long and distinguished career as a creative scientist, gifted administrator and effective spokesperson on social and civic aspects of science. His research on virology and cancer has over the years been of extraordinary importance and includes the co-discovery of reverse tanscriptase with Howard Temin. In 1975, at the age of 37, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, and he has also received the Eli Lilly Award in Microbiology and Immunology (1971), the Gairdner Foundation Annual Award (1974) and the National Medal of Science (1999). Dr. Baltimore founded and served as the first Director of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, a premier research facility, while also serving for over 25 years on the Massachusetts Institute of Technology faculty. In 1990 Dr. Baltimore was appointed president of Rockefeller University, and in 1997 he accepted the same position at the California Institute of Technology, where he served as president until 2006. He continues to serve Caltech as President Emeritus and Robert Andrews Millikan Professor of Biology and maintains a research laboratory dedicated to the use of gene therapy to treat cancer and HIV infection, transcriptional regulation and cell cycle controls. He was recently awarded Research!America's Builders of Science Award recognizing leaders in medical and health research.
2Name:  Dr. Sanford Louis Palay
 Institution:  Harvard University & Boston College
 Year Elected:  1997
 Class:  2. Biological Sciences
 Subdivision:  209. Neurobiology
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Deceased
 Birth Date:  1918
 Death Date:  August 5, 2002
Election Year