American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  1 ItemModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
4. Humanities[X]
403. Cultural Anthropology[X]
1Name:  Dr. Carol Greenhouse
 Institution:  Princeton University
 Year Elected:  2011
 Class:  4. Humanities
 Subdivision:  403. Cultural Anthropology
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1950
Carol J. Greenhouse is a cultural anthropologist specializing in the anthropology of law and politics, with primary interests in the United States. A graduate of Harvard University (A.B. Anthropology, Ph.D. Social Anthropology), she taught at Cornell and Indiana-Bloomington prior to joining the anthropology faculty at Princeton, where she has remained, entering emeritus status in 2019. She has held the chair (visiting) in American Civilization at the Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales (Paris) and is past president of the Law & Society Association, the Association for Political and Legal Anthropology, and the American Ethnological Society; she is also former editor of American Ethnologist. Her books include Praying for Justice: Faith, Hope and Community in an America Town, A Moment's Notice: Time Politics Across Cultures, Law and Community in Three American Towns (with David Engel and Barbara Yngvesson; winner of the Law & Society Association book prize), The Relevance of Paradox: Ethnography and Citizenship in the United States and edited volumes Ethnography and Democracy: Constructing Identity in Multicultural Liberal States, Ethnography in Unstable Places: Everyday Life in Contexts of Dramatic Social Change (co-edited with Elizabeth Mertz and Kay Warren), Ethnographies of Neoliberalism, and Landscapes of Law: Practicing Sovereignty in Transnational Terrain (co-edited with Christina L. Davis). In 2011, she was co-winner of the Law & Society Association's Kalven Prize and in 2015 she won James Boyd White Award of the Association for the Study of Law, Culture and the Humanities. She is married to Alfred C. Aman, Jr., Roscoe C. O'Byrne Professor of Law emeritus and former dean at Indiana University's Maurer School of Law, Bloomington. She was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society in 2011.
Election Year