American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  1 ItemModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
Resident (1)
3. Social Sciences[X]
303. History Since 1715[X]
1Name:  Dr. Susan Naquin
 Institution:  Princeton University
 Year Elected:  2008
 Class:  3. Social Sciences
 Subdivision:  303. History Since 1715
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1944
Susan Naquin is Professor of History and Professor of East Asian Studies at Princeton University. She received her Ph.D. from Yale University in 1974 and taught at the University of Pennsylvania from 1976-93. She was a Guggenheim Fellow from 1991-92 and has served on the editorial boards of Modern China and Asia Major. The breadth of Susan Naquin's scholarship and her ability to ask new and brilliantly perceptive questions about five centuries of Chinese history make her one of the most distinguished historians of East Asian history and culture at the present time. Peking: Temples and City Life carefully excavates the city's varied public arenas, its human engagements and rich cultural imprint. Her writing splendidly evokes a complex past and the radical transformation of a glittering city. Her understanding of religious organizations, their sites, and beliefs combines a knowledge of artifacts and space with a deep understanding of words, texts, and ritual. An active member of the history department and the East Asian Studies department, she is both an engaged scholar and an energetic teacher of both undergraduates and graduate students. She was a distinguished chair of East Asian Studies between 2001 and 2005 and directs the Chinese Rare Books Project at Princeton. She is frequently asked to lecture in China, in the United States and in Western Europe. Her other publications include Millenarian Rebellion in China: The Eight Trigrams Uprising of 1813 (1976); Shantung Rebellion: The Wang Lun Uprising of 1774 (1981); and (with E. Rawski) Chinese Society in the Eighteenth Century (1987). Susan Naquin was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society in 2008.
Election Year