American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  2 ItemsModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
Resident (2)
2. Biological Sciences[X]
201. Molecular Biology and Biochemistry[X]
1Name:  Dr. Peter C. Agre
 Institution:  Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Institute
 Year Elected:  2004
 Class:  2. Biological Sciences
 Subdivision:  201. Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1949
Peter Agre is a physician-scientist who has spent the last two decades studying the proteins of red blood cells, including those of the red cell membrane that determine blood type. Along with other workers in Paris and England, he solved the old puzzle of whether the Rh blood type is determined by one gene or by two or more closely linked genes. He isolated a novel protein of the red cell membrane that proved to be the specific protein for a channel involved in transfer of water across the cell membrane. He found that this channel, which he called aquaporin-1, is present in many other types of cells, such as the kidney and lung, where he could show physiologic significance. Furthermore, he showed that the previously known Colton blood type was determined by variation in the aquaporin-1 protein. He found that aquaporin-1 is the archetypic member of a family of cell membrane proteins. In 2003 Dr. Agre was awarded the Nobel Prize for these discoveries. He has been Professor of Biological Chemistry and Professor of Medicine at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine since 1993. In February 2009 he became president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
2Name:  Dr. Donald F. Steiner
 Institution:  University of Chicago; Howard Hughes Medical Institute
 Year Elected:  2004
 Class:  2. Biological Sciences
 Subdivision:  201. Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Deceased
 Birth Date:  1930
 Death Date:  November 11, 2014
Donald F. Steiner was born in Lima, Ohio in 1930. He received his M.D. degree from the University of Chicago in 1956 and had a distinguished career at the university as professor of biochemistry (1968-70); A. N. Pritzker Professor of Biochemistry and Medicine (1970-84); chairman of the department of biochemistry (1973-79); director of the Diabetes-Endocrinology Center (1974-78); associate director of the Diabetes and Research Training Center (1977-81); and A. N. Pritzker Distinguished Service Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and Medicine (1984-2014). He has also been a senior investigator in the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (1985-2006) and director or co-director of the University of Chicago Diabetes and Research Training Center. In 1967 Dr. Steiner discovered proinsulin, the single-chain precursor of insulin. He purified it and studied its structure, properties, biosynthesis, and cell biology, demonstrating its intracellular conversion into insulin and the cosecreted C-peptide. With Dr. A. H. Rubenstein, radioimmunoassays were developed for proinsulin and C-peptide in serum, which have been widely applied in diabetes research. Dr. Steiner's pioneering studies thus opened the now very broad field of precursor protein processing, leading to the identification of many other proproteins and more recently to the discovery of the mammalian proprotein convertase family of cellular processing endoproteases. His laboratory also first demonstrated receptor-mediated uptake and degradation of insulin. His discoveries have strongly influenced insulin and islet cell research, ranging from the commercial production of human insulin for diabetes therapy to the evolution of insulin and insulin-like growth factors (IGFs). The recipient of honors including the Gairdner Award (1971), Wolf Foundation Prize in Medicine (1985) and the Endocrine Society's Fred C. Koch Award (1990), Dr. Steiner was a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. He was elected a member ofthe American Philosophical Society in 2004. Donald Steiner died November 11, 2014, at age 84 at his home in Chicago, Illinois.
Election Year