American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  1 ItemModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
Resident (1)
2. Biological Sciences[X]
204. Medicine, Surgery, Pathology and Immunology[X]
1Name:  Dr. Clyde Frederick Barker
 Institution:  American Philosophical Society; University of Pennsylvania
 Year Elected:  1997
 Class:  2. Biological Sciences
 Subdivision:  204. Medicine, Surgery, Pathology and Immunology
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1932
Clyde F. Barker is a native of Salt Lake City and a graduate of Phillips Exeter Academy, Cornell University, and Cornell University Medical College. His internship and residency in surgery were at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, where he has served his entire academic and professional career. Following residency training he was a fellow in vascular surgery and then a postdoctoral fellow in medical genetics under Rupert Billingham, studying transplantation biology. He was appointed to the faculty of the University of Pennsylvania in 1966 and became Professor of Surgery in 1973. From 1966 to 2001 he was Chief of Transplantation Surgery and, from 1982 to 2001, Chief of the Division of Vascular Surgery. From 1983 to 2001 he was the John Rhea Barton Professor and Chairman of the Department of Surgery, and Director of the Harrison Department of Surgical Research. He is now Donald Guthrie Professor of Surgery. The Clyde F. Barker Transplant House at University of Pennsylvania Hospital is named in his honor. Clyde Barker’s research interests have been primarily in transplantation, especially transplantation of the kidney and pancreas and of isolated pancreatic islets. His research was continuously funded for more than 25 years by grants from the National Institutes of Health, including an NIH Merit Award from 1987-95. He has published more than 400 scientific papers and has served on 12 editorial boards, including the Journal of Surgical Research, Diabetes, Transplantation, Archives of Surgery, Surgery, Journal of the American College of Surgeons, and The Annals of Surgery. Clyde Barker is a member of the National Academy of Medicine, American Academy of Arts & Sciences, and the Association of American Physicians. He has been President of the American Society of Transplantation Surgeons, the International Society of Surgery, and the American Surgical Association. He has served as visiting professor at 80 different universities and is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of England and of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland. He is the recipient of lifetime achievement awards from the American College of Surgeons and the Society of University Surgeons, the 2007 Jonathan E. Rhoads Medal for Distinguished Achievement in Medicine, the Thomas E. Starzl Prize in 2009, and the 2010 Medawar Prize from the Transplantation Society. The Medawar Prize is recognized as the world’s highest award dedicated to the outstanding contributions in the field of transplantation. In 2010 he was awarded the American Philosophical Society’s Henry Allen Moe Prize in the Humanities in recognition of his Jayne Lecture delivered to the members of the Society at its 2007 November Meeting and published in the Society’s Proceedings, March 2009, entitled "Thomas Eakins and His Medical Clinics." Clyde Barker was elected to the American Philosophical Society in 1997 and has served on Council and as a Vice President. He served as the Society’s President from April 2011 through April 2017.
Election Year