American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  2 ItemsModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
International (1)
Resident (1)
2. Biological Sciences[X]
205. Microbiology[X]
1Name:  Dr. Sandra Díaz
 Institution:  Universidad Nacional de Córdoba, Argentina; Instituto Multidisciplinario de Biología Vegetal, Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas, Argentina
 Year Elected:  2022
 Class:  2. Biological Sciences
 Subdivision:  205. Microbiology
 Residency:  International
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1961
Sandra Díaz is Professor of Ecology at Córdoba National University, senior member of the Argentine National Research Council and Visiting Professor at the School of Geography and the Environment, Oxford University. She is interested in plant functional traits and syndromes, their effects on ecosystem properties and their interactions with global change drivers. She constructed the first global quantitative picture of essential functional diversity of vascular plants –the global spectrum of plant form and function. She has advanced theory and practical implementation of the concept of functional diversity and its effects on ecosystem properties and benefits. She combines her ecology studies with interdisciplinary work on how different societies value and reconfigure nature. She founded Núcleo DiverSus on Diversity and Sustainability, and co-founded the Global Communal Plant Trait Initiative TRY. She co-chaired the Global Assessment of the Intergovernmental Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services. She is a member of the Academies of Sciences of Argentina, USA, France, Norway, Latin America and the Developing World, and Foreign Fellow of the British Royal Society. Her awards include the Margalef Prize in Ecology (2017), the Gunnerus Award in Sustainability Science (2019), the Kew International Medal (2020) and the BBVA Frontiers of Knowledge in Ecology and Conservation Award (2021).
2Name:  Dr. Christopher Bower Field
 Institution:  Stanford University
 Year Elected:  2022
 Class:  2. Biological Sciences
 Subdivision:  205. Microbiology
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1953
Christopher Bower Field is the Perry L. McCarty Director of the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment and the Melvin and Joan Lane Professor for Interdisciplinary Environmental Studies at Stanford University. He earned his Ph.D., also from Stanford, in 1981. He has also worked at the University of Utah, as the Director of the Department of Global Ecology at the Carnegie Institution of Washington, and at the Jasper Ridge Biological Preserve. Field has made fundamental contributions to understanding complex interactions between plants and land ecosystems, and CO2 emissions from human activities. His visionary research on the global carbon cycle showed that projections of future climate require the explicit consideration of land ecosystems and their management. His pioneering work established the links between plant photosynthesis and the global carbon budget, and also demonstrated the important role of nitrogen in limiting the uptake of carbon by natural ecosystems in a higher CO2 world. These and other insights enabled the design of effective strategies for managing agricultural fields, forests and other terrestrial ecosystems in response to climate change. He has also played critical international leadership roles in assessing impacts, adaptation and vulnerabilities related to climate change. He has used research findings to guide policy makers and business leaders in making effective choices to mitigate the adverse impacts of climate change. He is co-recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize (2007), and received the Heinz Award (2009), the Max Planck Research Award (2013), the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award (2013), the Roger Revelle Medal (2014), and the Stephen H. Schneider Award for Outstanding Climate Science Communication (2015). Field has been a member of the National Academy of Sciences since 2001 and the American Academy of Arts & Sciences since 2010. He was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society in 2022.
Election Year