American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  2 ItemsModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
Resident (2)
2. Biological Sciences[X]
204. Medicine, Surgery, Pathology and Immunology[X]
1Name:  Dr. Lawrence H. Einhorn
 Institution:  Indiana University
 Year Elected:  2001
 Class:  2. Biological Sciences
 Subdivision:  204. Medicine, Surgery, Pathology and Immunology
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1942
Lawrence Einhorn received his M.D. from the University of Iowa in 1968. He was a fellow in hematology/oncology at Indiana University Medical Center, 1971-72, and a fellow in oncology at the M.D. Anderson Hospital & Tumor Institute, 1972-73. He joined the Indiana University School of Medicine in 1973 where he has been a professor of medicine, clinical oncology and hematology and, since 1987, a Distinguished Professor of Medicine. In 2006 he became the first Lance Armstrong Foundation Professor of Oncology. Lawrence Einhorn achieved an international reputation as a young medical researcher who developed a very effective treatment for cancer of the testes. He is the Clinical Director of the Walther Oncology Center at the Indiana University Medical Center, where he has developed a talented team of investigators in oncology. His research has led to the improvement of treatment in a variety of cancers including the breast, bladder, lung and Hodgkin's Disease. He is well known among his peers in oncology and is well informed concerning the remarkable areas of research in his field. Solutions to cancer treatment and prevention will likely occur by teams of collaborators and institutions. Dr. Einhorn is well positioned to continue to make strong contributions in his important field. He is the recipient of many honors, including the Medal of Honor from the American Cancer Society (1983); the Gottlieb Award from M.D. Anderson Hospital (1986); the Bernard Schwartz Award from the Scripps Institute (1987); the Distinguished Clinician Award from the Milken Foundation (1989); the Kettering Prize for Cancer Research from General Motors Foundation (1992); the Presidential Medal of Honor from Indiana University (1996); the Jacquiatt Award in Oncology (1997); and the Vermeil Medal of Paris (2000). An active member of the American Society of Clinical Oncology, he served as its president, on the board of directors, and, for eight years, as editor of its Journal of Clinical Oncology. He was on the board of scientific counselors of the National Cancer Institute, where he was also an outstanding investigator grantee, 1985-92, 1993-2000. Dr. Einhorn was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society in 2001.
2Name:  Dr. Seymour I. Schwartz
 Institution:  University of Rochester
 Year Elected:  2001
 Class:  2. Biological Sciences
 Subdivision:  204. Medicine, Surgery, Pathology and Immunology
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Deceased
 Birth Date:  1928
 Death Date:  August 28, 2020
Seymour I. Schwartz was the Distinguished Alumni Professor of Surgery at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry and was Chair of the Department of Surgery from 1987-1998. He received his medical training from New York University. Dr. Schwartz has authored or edited several surgical textbooks, including seven editions of the most widely read Principles of Surgery, and is Editor Emeritus of the Journal of the American College of Surgeons. His many contributions were recognized in 1992 when he was awarded the Albert Kaiser Medal. Dr. Schwartz is also a cartographic historian and has authored Mapping of America 1980), The French and Indian War (1995), An Englishman\'s Journey Along American\'s Eastern Waterway\'s (2000), This Land is Your Land: The Geographic Evolution of the United States (2000), Putting \"America\" on the Map (2007) and Gifted Hands (2009). He was on the Board of the National Museum of American History of the Smithsonian Institution and the Phillips Society of the Library of Congress. He was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society in 2001. Seymour Schwartz died on August 28, 2020 at his son's home in St. Louis, Missouri.
Election Year