American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  2 ItemsModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
Resident (2)
106. Physics[X]
1Name:  Dr. Marvin L. Cohen
 Institution:  University of California, Berkeley
 Year Elected:  2003
 Class:  1. Mathematical and Physical Sciences
 Subdivision:  106. Physics
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1935
Marvin Cohen created and applied a quantum theory for explaining and predicting properties of materials. His approach is used worldwide, and it is referred to as "the standard model of solids." The theoretical tools he developed and his insightful applications have formed the basis for much of our understanding of semiconductors and nanoscience. Dr. Cohen is a person of broad experience and influence. He has served as president of the American Physical Society and has taught at the University of California, Berkeley, where he is currently University Professor of Physics and Senior Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, since 1966. His many honors include the Oliver E. Buckley Prize for Solid State Physics (1979); the Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize of the American Physical Society (1994); the National Medal of Science (2002); the Forsight Institute Richard P. Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology (2003); the Technology Pioneer Award from the World Economic Forum (2007); and the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics from the Franklin Institute (2017). Dr. Cohen is a member of the National Academy of Sciences (1980) and the American Academy of Arts & Sciences (1993) and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1997).
2Name:  Dr. Burton Richter
 Institution:  Stanford University; Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
 Year Elected:  2003
 Class:  1. Mathematical and Physical Sciences
 Subdivision:  106. Physics
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Deceased
 Birth Date:  1931
 Death Date:  July 18, 2018
Burton Richter was the Paul Pigott Professor in the Physical Sciences at Stanford University and Director Emeritus of the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center at the time of his death on July 18, 2018. Born in 1931 in New York, he received his B.S. and Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1952 and 1956, respectively. He began as a post doc at Stanford University in 1956, became a professor in 1967, and was director of the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center from 1984-99. His research centered on experimental particle physics with high-energy electrons and electron- positron colliding beams. After 1999 he devoted an increasing amount of time to issues relating to energy and sustainable development. Dr. Richter received the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1976, the E. O. Lawrence Medal of the Department of Energy in 1976, and the National Medal of Science in 2014. He was a member of the National Academy of Sciences; a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Physical Society (president, 1994). He was president of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics from 1999-2002 and served on many advisory committees to governments, laboratories and universities. He also served as a member of the Department of Energy's Secretary of Energy Advisory Board, Laboratory Operations Board, the Transmutation Subcommittee of the Nuclear Energy Research Advisory Committee, and the French Commissaire a l'Energie Atomique (CEA) Visiting Group. He was also a member of the Jason Group, and chaired the National Research Council's Board on Physics and Astronomy. He was interested in industry and its use of science and technology and had been a member of the General Motors Science Advisory Committee, chairman of the technology advisory board of an artificial intelligence company, a member of the Board of Directors of Varian Associates and Varian Medical Systems, and Litel Instruments and AREVA Enterprises, Inc.
Election Year