American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  1 ItemModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
105. Physical Earth Sciences[X]
1Name:  Dr. Ellen Mosley-Thompson
 Institution:  Ohio State University
 Year Elected:  2009
 Class:  1. Mathematical and Physical Sciences
 Subdivision:  105. Physical Earth Sciences
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1948
Ellen Mosley-Thompson is a Distinguished University Professor, Senior Research Scientist in the Byrd Polar Research Center at the Ohio State University. She was Director of the Byrd Polar Research Center from 2009-2016. Dr. Mosley-Thompson holds a B.S. degree in physics and a Master’s and Ph.D. in climatology and atmospheric sciences. She uses the chemical and physical properties preserved in ice cores collected from the polar ice sheets and high mountain glaciers to reconstruct the Earth’s complex climate history. These records indicate that the Earth’s climate has moved outside the range of natural variability experienced over at least the last 2000 years. Dr. Mosley-Thompson has led a total fourteen expeditions to drill ice cores at remote locations in Antarctica and Greenland. She established Antarctica’s most extensive and longest running snow accumulation network at South Pole Station. In addition to her election as a member of the American Philosophical Society (2009) Dr. Mosley-Thompson is a member of the National Academy of Sciences (2009). She is a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union and the American Association for the Advancement of Science and has received the Dan David Prize (2008), the Roy Chapman Andrews Society 2007 Distinguished Explorer Award, The Common Wealth Award for Science and Invention (2002), and the Franklin Institute's Franklin Medal (2012). Weblink 1: Weblink 2:
Election Year