American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  2 ItemsModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
International (1)
Resident (1)
102. Chemistry and Chemical Biochemistry[X]
1Name:  Dr. Tobin Jay Marks
 Institution:  Northwestern University
 Year Elected:  2022
 Class:  1. Mathematical and Physical Sciences
 Subdivision:  102. Chemistry and Chemical Biochemistry
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1944
Tobin Jay Marks is the Vladimir N. Ipatieff Professor of Catalytic Chemistry, Professor of Material Science and Engineering, Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, and Professor of Applied Physics at Northwestern University. He earned his Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1971. He has spent most of his career at Northwestern, beginning as an Assistant Professor, then full Professor, and later, the Charles E. & Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry. For five decades, Marks has been on the cutting edge of chemistry. Among his most ambitious work is the development of new organic photonics and olefin-polymerization techniques that opened the door to environmentally-friendly plastics. Marks has been "a true giant in the field" Stanford University chemistry professor Richard Zare told Chemical & Engineering News in 2016 when Marks was announced as the recipient of the Priestley Medal from the American Chemical Society. Among Marks' many achievements are the creation of flexible electronic materials for use in solar cells and light-emitting diodes and developing classes of oxide thin films for use in energy efficient materials. The wide scope of his research has resulted in more than a thousand published papers and more than 230 patents. He has also mentored hundreds of students over his career. Marks' major recognitions include the U.S. National Medal of Science, the Spanish Principe de Asturias Prize, the Materials Research Society Von Hippel Award, the Dreyfus Prize in the Chemical Sciences, the National Academy of Sciences Award in Chemical Sciences, and the Israel Harvey Prize. He is a member of the U.S., European, German, Indian, and Italian Academies of Sciences, the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, and the U.S. National Academy of Inventors. He is a Fellow of the U.K. Royal Society of Chemistry, the Materials Research Society, and the American Chemical Society. Marks was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society in 2022.
2Name:  Dr. Stephen Weiner
 Institution:  Weizmann Institute of Science
 Year Elected:  2022
 Class:  1. Mathematical and Physical Sciences
 Subdivision:  102. Chemistry and Chemical Biochemistry
 Residency:  International
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1948
Stephen Weiner was born in Pretoria, South Africa. He obtained a BSc degree in chemistry and geology at the University of Cape Town, an MSc in marine geochemistry at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, and a PhD at the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, USA in 1977 working in the field of mineral formation in biology (biomineralization). In the same year he joined the faculty of the Weizmann Institute of Science. He is now a professor emeritus at the Weizmann Institute of Science. Steve Weiner carries out research in two fields: biomineralization and archaeological science. His biomineralization research focusses on basic mechanisms of mineral formation in biology, on the functions of organic crystals in manipulating light in biology, as well as on structure – function relations in vertebrate mineralized tissues such as bones and teeth. His archaeological research focuses on addressing key questions in archaeology by studying both the visual macroscopic record, as well as revealing the microscopic record with the help of instrumentation. Much of this research is carried out on-site during the excavation. In 1989 he published a book entitled “On Biomineralization” with the late Prof H.A. Lowenstam, and in 2010 he published another book entitled “Microarchaeology: Beyond the Visible Archaeological Record”. Prof Weiner has published over 350 peer reviewed papers and has a Google H index of 125. He is the recipient of the 2010 prize for excellence of the Israel Chemical Society, the 2011 Aminoff Prize for Crystallography from the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and he received the 2013 Pomerance Award for Scientific Contributions to Archaeology from the Archaeological Institute of America. In 2022 he will receive the gold medal of the Israel Chemistry Society; its highest award.
Election Year