American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  1 ItemModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
Resident (1)
1Name:  Dr. Jahan Ramazani
 Institution:  University of Virginia
 Year Elected:  2022
 Class:  4. Humanities
 Subdivision:  402a
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1960
Jahan Ramazani is University Professor and Edgar F. Shannon Professor of English at the University of Virginia. He was educated at Virginia (BA, summa cum laude, 1981), Oxford (MPhil, 1983), and Yale (PhD, 1988). He is the author of many books and articles on modern and contemporary poetry. Some of his scholarship has focused on the elegy in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, as in his first two books, Yeats and the Poetry of Death: Elegy, Self-Elegy, and the Sublime (1990) and Poetry of Mourning: The Modern Elegy from Hardy to Heaney (1994), a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. He has also raised the profile of postcolonial poetry in English of Africa, India, the Caribbean, and Black and Asian Britain in his books The Hybrid Muse: Postcolonial Poetry in English (2001) and in his Cambridge Companion to Postcolonial Poetry (2017). Other of his books exploring the global and transnational dimensions of poetry include A Transnational Poetics (2009), winner of the Harry Levin Prize of the American Comparative Literature Association for the best book in comparative literary history (2008 to 2010), and Poetry in a Global Age (2020). He has also sought to illuminate poetry’s dialogue with other discourses and genres, particularly in Poetry and Its Others: News, Prayer, Song, and the Dialogue of Genres (2014). In addition, he is the editor of “Poetry and Race” (2019), a special issue of New Literary History, and co-editor of “Song” (2016) in the same journal; a co-editor of the most recent editions of The Norton Anthology of Modern and Contemporary Poetry (2003) and The Norton Anthology of English Literature (2006, 2012, 2018); and an associate editor of The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics (2012). Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2016, he is a recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, an NEH Fellowship, a Rhodes Scholarship, the William Riley Parker Prize of the MLA, and the Thomas Jefferson Award, the University of Virginia’s highest honor.
Election Year