American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  1 ItemModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
1Name:  Dr. Jeroen G. W. Raaijmakers
 Institution:  University of Amsterdam
 Year Elected:  2012
 Class:  3. Social Sciences
 Subdivision:  305
 Residency:  International
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1952
Jeroen G.W. Raaijmakers received his Ph.D. from the University of Nijmegen in 1979. In collaboration with Richard M. Shiffrin, he developed a new model (SAM, for Search of Associative Memory) for retrieval from long-term memory that gave a quantitative description of search processes in memory. Key features of the model were a precise description of the effects of combining several retrieval cues and the role of context in retrieval from memory. Over the past 30 years the model has been successfully applied to explain a large number of empirical phenomena and is generally considered as one of the most encompassing models of human memory and a standard in current memory research. In 1985, Dr. Raaijmakers moved to the TNO Institute for Perception (now called TNO Human Factors) to set up a new group on Applied Cognitive Psychology, focusing on knowledge systems and human decision making. In 1992, Dr. Raaijmakers became (full) professor in Cognitive Psychology at the University of Amsterdam. One of the activities there was the creation of a new interuniversity Graduate Program in Experimental Psychology. In 1993, the Graduate Research Institute for Experimental Psychology EPOS was formed with Dr. Raaijmakers as its first director. Between 2006 and 2010, Dr. Raaijmakers was director of the Cognitive Science Center Amsterdam, focusing on the stimulation of interdisciplinary research in Cognitive Science by bringing together researchers from neurobiology, cognitive psychology, linguistics, behavioral economics and information science to work on common issues in human (and animal) cognition. He was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society in 2012. He was elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences in 2017
Election Year