American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  1 ItemModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
104. Mathematics[X]
1Name:  Sir Roger Penrose
 Institution:  University of Oxford
 Year Elected:  2011
 Class:  1. Mathematical and Physical Sciences
 Subdivision:  104. Mathematics
 Residency:  International
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1931
Roger Penrose has been producing original and important scientific ideas for half a century, having earned his Ph.D. from St. Johns College, Cambridge in 1957. His work is characterized by exceptional geometrical and physical insight. He applied new mathematical techniques to Einstein’s general relativity and led the renaissance in gravitation theory in the 1960s. His novel ideas on space and time and his concept of "twistors" are increasingly influential. This remarkable mathematical theory combining algebraic and geometrical methods has been one of his major breakthroughs. Even his recreations have had intellectual impact: for instance, his studies of the "impossible figures" in Escher’s artwork, and the never-repeating patterns of "Penrose tiling." He has influenced and stimulated a wide public through his lectures and his best-selling and wide-ranging books, including: Techniques of Differential Topology in Relativity, 1972; (with W. Rindler) Spinors and Space-Time, Vol. 1, 1984, Vol. 2, 1986; The Emperor’s New Mind, 1989; Shadows of the Mind, 1996; Collected Works (six volumes), 2010. He has won a number of awards, including the W. H. Heinemann Prize (1971), the Science Book Prize (1990), Order of Merit (1994), the Eddington Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society, De Morgan Medal of the London Mathematical Society (2004) and the Copley Medal of the Royal Society (2008), and belongs to a number of academic societies, including the Royal Society, the Royal Irish Academy, the Polish Academy of Sciences, and the National Academy of Sciences (1998). Roger Penrose won the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2020. He was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society in 2011.
Election Year