American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  1 ItemModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
1Name:  Dr. Julia Hirschberg
 Institution:  Columbia University
 Year Elected:  2014
 Class:  1. Mathematical and Physical Sciences
 Subdivision:  107
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1947
Julia Hirschberg is Percy K. and Vida L. W. Hudson Professor of Computer Science and Chair of the Computer Science Department at Columbia University. She received her Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Pennsylvania and also has a PhD in History from the University of Michigan. She worked at Bell Laboratories and AT&T Laboratories -- Research from 1985-2003 as a Member of Technical Staff and a Department Head, creating the Human-Computer Interface Research Department. She served as editor-in-chief of Computational Linguistics from 1993-2003 and co-editor-in-chief of Speech Communication from 2003-2006 and is now on the Editorial Board. She was on the Executive Board of the Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL) from 1993-2003, on the Permanent Council of International Conference on Spoken Language Processing (ICSLP) since 1996, and on the board of the International Speech Communication Association (ISCA) from 1999-2007 (as President 2005-2007, Advisory Council 2007--). She now serves on the IEEE Speech and Language Processing Technical Committee, the Executive Board of the Computing Research Associate (CRA), the Association for the Advancement of Artifical Intelligence (AAAI) Council, the Executive Board of the North American ACL, and the board of the CRA-W. She has been active in working for diversity at AT&T and at Columbia. She has been an AAAI fellow since 1994, an ISCA Fellow since 2008, and a (founding) ACL Fellow since 2011. She received an Honorary Doctorate (Hedersdoktor) from KTH in 2007, a Columbia Engineering School Alumni Association (CESAA) Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award in 2009, the IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award in 2011, the ISCA Medal for Scientific Achievement in 2011, and was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2017. She was elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences in 2018. She was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society in 2014.
Election Year