American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  1 ItemModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
1Name:  Dr. Anita K. Jones
 Institution:  University of Virginia
 Year Elected:  2010
 Class:  1. Mathematical and Physical Sciences
 Subdivision:  107
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1942
Anita Jones, who is now University Professor Emerita at the University of Virginia, is a computer scientist who has made significant contributions to national science and engineering policy. Her technical work focuses on protection mechanisms and secure systems that make guarantees about how information is used. Her current focus is survivable information systems and interactive, distributed computer simulation for training, analysis, and entertainment. In June 1993, when she was appointed the Director of Defense Research and Engineering for the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD), she assumed responsibility for the management of the DoD's Science and Technology Program, including responsibility for the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency and oversight of the DoD laboratories. Her duties also incorporated being the principal advisor to the Secretary of Defense for defense-related scientific and technical matters. As Director, she served in one of the nation's top technical positions and oversaw the largest defense research and development organization in the world. Jones focused the DoD program to ensure military and national preeminence in important strategic technologies while expanding the program's scope and the speed at which technology was developed and transitioned into use. Dr. Jones received her Ph.D. from Carnegie Mellon University in 1973, joining their faculty that same year. In 1988 she moved to the University of Virginia, serving as professor and department head. She is the author of numerous papers, as well as Foundations of Secure Computation (with R. De Millo, et al, 1978). She is a member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering, and was elected to membership in the American Philosophical Society in 2010. In 2011, the National Academy of Engineering presented her with the Arthur M. Bueche Award.
Election Year