American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  1 ItemModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
502. Physicians, Theologians, Lawyers, Jurists, Architects, and Members of Other Professions[X]
1Name:  Mr. Peter J. Dougherty
 Institution:  American Philosophical Society; Princeton University Press; University of Pennsylvania
 Year Elected:  2023
 Class:  5. The Arts, Professions, and Leaders in Public & Private Affairs
 Subdivision:  502. Physicians, Theologians, Lawyers, Jurists, Architects, and Members of Other Professions
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1948
Peter J. Dougherty is Director of The APS Press of the American Philosophical Society, former Director of Princeton University Press, and Fox Family Pavilion Scholar and Distinguished Senior Fellow, University of Pennsylvania. A 1971 graduate of La Salle College in his hometown of Philadelphia, Dougherty began his publishing career in 1972 as a college sales representative at Harcourt Brace Jovanovich. After holding editorial positions at HBJ and several other New York-based publishers, he joined Princeton University Press in 1992 as economics editor. Dougherty was named PUP Director in 2005, and stepped down from that post in 2017, returning to editorial acquisitions at PUP until 2022. In his Princeton editorial role, Dougherty’s list of publications included works by twelve Nobel Prize-winning economists, including Robert Shiller’s Irrational Exuberance, George Akerlof and Rachel Kranton’s Identity Economics, The Essential John Nash (edited by Harold Kuhn and Sylvia Nasar), Ben Bernanke’s Essays on The Great Depression, Thomas Sargent’s The Conquest of American Inflation, Douglass North’s Understanding the Process of Economic Change, and Jean Tirole’s Economics for the Common Good. As PUP Director from 2005 through 2017, Dougherty led the Press to sustained growth, expanding its operation in Europe and opening its office in China; publishing the Digital Edition of The Einstein Papers, launching The Princeton Legacy Library, a digitized selection of over 2,500 backlist titles, reviving The Princeton Series of Contemporary Poets, and initiating The Toni Morrison Lecture Series. During his directorship PUP published numerous award-winners, including two winners of the R.R. Hawkins Prize of the Association of American Publishers, Peter Cole’s The Dream of the Poem, and Peter Brown’s Through the Eye of The Needle, and several New York Times Best Sellers, among them, Carmen Reinhart and Kenneth Rogoff’s This Time is Different, Robert Gordon’s The Rise and Fall of American Growth, and Andrew Hodges’ Alan Turing: The Enigma. Dougherty is a past president of the Association of University Presses and a former board member of the American Association of Publishers. He is a trustee of Ithaka, an editorial board member of the Princeton University Library Chronicle, and former faculty member of the University of Denver Publishing Institute. In the Robert A. Fox Leadership Program at Penn, he conducted the publishing workshop series, Books for the Long Run. He is the author of two books, Who’s Afraid of Adam Smith? (John Wiley & Sons, 2002), and Confessions of a Scholarly Publisher (Princeton University Press, 2017). His essays have appeared in The Chronicle of Higher Education, the Journal of Scholarly Publishing, American Purpose, and other periodicals.
Election Year