American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  1 ItemModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
Resident (1)
501. Creative Artists[X]
1Name:  Ms. Louise Gluck
 Institution:  Yale University
 Year Elected:  2014
 Class:  5. The Arts, Professions, and Leaders in Public & Private Affairs
 Subdivision:  501. Creative Artists
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Deceased
 Birth Date:  1943
 Death Date:  October 13, 2023
Louise Gluck is the author of Firstborn, 1968; Proofs and Theories (Collected Essays), 1994; The First Four Books, 1995; Meadowlands, 1996; Vita Nova, 1999; The Seven Ages, 2001; October, 2003; Averno, 2006; A Village Life, 2009; Poems, 1962-2012, 2012. Each of her books departs from the theme of its predecessors like a novel with lacunae opening onto the unspeakable. Myths of antiquity - the characters of Persphone, Achilles, Eurydice, Iphigenia, appear throughout the series, often used as a vehicle for psychological analysis. Many of her books contain dark poems of family relationships. The last volume, A Village Life, reinforces the themes that delineate the difficulties of interpersonal relationships. To read her books is to understanding the governing paradox of a life lived in the body and of the work wrested from it, the one fated to die and the other to endure. She is the recipient of a National Book Critics Circle Award, 1985; Guggenheim Fellowship, 1975, 1987; Pulitzer Prize, 1993; the PEN Martha Albrand Award, 1994, the Gold Medal for Poetry from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, 2015; and the National Humanities Medal, 2016. She served as Poet Laureate of the United States in 2003. Louise Gluck was Senior lecturer in English, 1984-98, and Preston S. Parish ‘41 Third Century Lecturer in English, 1998-2004, at Williams College, and was Regents Professor, 1985-87, at the University of California, Los Angeles. Since 2004 she has been the Rosenkranz Writer in Residence and Adjunct Professor of English at Yale University. Louise Gluck won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2020. She was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society in 2014.
Election Year