American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  2 ItemsModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
International (1)
Resident (1)
209. Neurobiology[X]
1Name:  Dr. Sharon R. Long
 Institution:  Stanford University
 Year Elected:  2000
 Class:  2. Biological Sciences
 Subdivision:  209. Neurobiology
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1951
Sharon Long has been responsible for elucidating many of the early reactions involved in the establishment of nitrogen-fixing nodules of leguminous plants. She has also described the genetic systems of the plants and bacteria involved in this infection process and has developed ingenious genetic and biochemical techniques for study of the nodulation of legumes. Her exceptional competence ranges from the most intricate details of plant and microbial molecular, genetic, cellular and developmental biology to large-scale concerns with science and society. Dr. Long has played an active role in the Plant Biology Section of the National Academy of Sciences, and she has served as Chair of the Biological Sciences Class of the Academy. An admirable teacher and communicator, Dr. Long is presently Professor of Biology at Stanford University, where she has taught since 1981. From 2001 to 2007 she served as the Dean of the Stanford School of Humanities and Sciences and in 2008 she was recognized as one of the five science advisors to the Obama campaign. She holds a Ph.D. from Yale University (1979) and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences (1993); the American Academy of Microbiology (1993); and the American Academy of Arts & Sciences (1994).
2Name:  Dr. Erling Norrby
 Institution:  Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences & Karolinska Institute; J. Craig Venter Institute
 Year Elected:  2000
 Class:  2. Biological Sciences
 Subdivision:  209. Neurobiology
 Residency:  International
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1937
Erling Norrby is Professor at the Karolinska Institute and Secretary General of The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. He received an M.D. in 1963, Ph.D. in 1964, and Docent of Medicine in 1964 from the Karolinska Institute, Stockholm. He served as chairman of the Department of Virology from 1972-1990 and Dean of Medical Faculty from 1990-97 at the Karolinska Institute. Erling Norrby has achieved a high level of accomplishment and recognition for academic research in viruses and diseases and as a leader in science and medicine. His laboratory career focused on viruses and immunopathogenesis, with particularly important contributions to the Paramyxoviruses (measles, atypical measles, SSPE) and to the retroviruses causing AIDS in man (HIV) and animals (SIV). He is the recipient of several awards, including the Career Award of the Swedish Cancer Society, 1966-72 and the Fernström Prize, 1981. He has served on the World Health Organization's Expert Advisory Committee since 1975. And served the Nobel Committee in various capacities, from 1975 to 1993. Dr. Norrby has been a member of the Swedish Royal Academy of Sciences since 1981 and the Academia Europea since 1998. He was elected to the American Philosophical Society in 2000.
Election Year