American Philosophical Society
Member History

Results:  1 ItemModify Search | New Search
Page: 1Reset Page
1Name:  Dr. Bert Vogelstein
 Institution:  Howard Hughes Medical Institute & Johns Hopkins Oncology Center
 Year Elected:  1995
 Class:  2. Biological Sciences
 Subdivision:  204. Medicine, Surgery, Pathology and Immunology
 Residency:  Resident
 Living? :   Living
 Birth Date:  1949
Bert Vogelstein stands out among the leading contemporary workers in the field of the molecular genetic basis of cancer, with his work in the area of colorectal cancer of particular note. He has effectively proven the multi-step process of carcinogenesis from benign adenoma to metastasizing cancer, and he identified mutations in the APC gene as an early and very frequent change in sporadic colon cancer as well as a constitutional change in persons with familial polyps of the colon. He was also responsible for defining a new type of cancer-producing gene mutation, mapping to chromosome 2, in familial colon cancer, and for identifying a specific oncogene in gliomas (brain tumors). Dr. Vogelstein's contributions are of the greatest importance for understanding the progression of malignancy, for early diagnosis of cancer, and for prevention of cancer. Currently Clayton Professor of Oncology at the Johns Hopkins Oncology Center as well as an investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, he has been affiliated with Johns Hopkins University since receiving his Ph.D. from that institution in 1974. Dr. Vogelstein's many awards include the Alison Eberlein Award for Outstanding Contributions to Leukemia Research (1968), the Gairdner Foundation International Award in Science (1992), the American Cancer Society's Medal of Honor (1992), the Richard Lounsbery Award of the National Academy of Sciences, to whose membership he was elected in 1992, the Charles Rodophe Brupbacher Prize for Cancer Research (2012), the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences (2013), the Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research (2015),and the Gruber Genetics Prize (2019). He is also a member of the National Cancer Institute and the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.
Election Year